Week 1 Blog Assignment

Hey guys! My name is Nicholas Garcia and I’m a freshman psychology major from Miami, Florida. Back home, I went to a Jesuit high school and had the opportunity of playing varsity football for 4 years. Some of my other hobbies include reading, traveling and watching movies. Movies were always a big cornerstone of my upbringing. A as kid, I would become obsessed with the characters and heroes I saw on the big screen. Whether it was Batman, Marty McFly or Luke Skywalker, to name a few, these characters truly had an influence on me, especially during Halloween! A movie character that has stuck with me over the years, however, is Indiana Jones. I love Spielberg’s and Lucas’ original three Indiana Jones films and eventually even grew to love the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. I feel that Indiana Jones is the right combination of human and hero. In film, I find it rare to find a hero that can also show that he’s just a regular human being as well. I feel that Indy truly embodies that and it makes him all the more a beloved character in my eyes.

My three favorite movies are definitely Raiders of the Lost Ark, No Country for Old Men and Silver Linings Playbook. I feel that each one of these films has unique story line that makes me want to watch them over and over again. My three least favorite movies are Syriana, Batman and Robin and Super Babies 2: Baby Geniuses. I decided to take this class because I wanted to further my understanding of the full movie experience as well as further understand each film’s unique message. I’m looking forward to learning all about the film industry and watching all these really cool movies together. I hope we all have a great semester!

Leave a Reply

