Week One Introductions

Hello, my name is Chun Yu, but I go by Jennifer. I was born in Shanghai, China and moved to the United States when I was eight years old. I am double majoring in Microbiology and East Asian Languages (Chinese) and am a freshman in Weaver Hall this year. I’ll be honest, film analysis is a humanities credit and worth six thousand words, which helps complete my general education requirements. I also believe that it is a fun class, a belief which has not been disproven. 

One of my favorite films is About A Boy. I enjoy light hearted movies that have meaning and feeling to them. Love Actually is also like this. Both feature Hugh Grant, of which I am a huge fan. IP Man is a movie that I liked outside of my usual genre, as it was an action movie that was quite gruesome. It is a biographical account of a martial arts master, which was Bruce Lee’s mentor. This Hong Kong film made me laugh and cry with anxiety the whole time, it is also one of the few movies I want to watch more than once. 

My least favorite film is Birds, the Alfred Hitchcock movie I watched for my television productions class. I did not think it lived up to the short story.  I disliked Atonement because it seemed to be one horrible event after another for what seemed to be no reason at all. I also disliked Love In Disguise, a movie directed by Leehom Wang, a popular star in China. It was terribly cliche, and I had a hard time paying attention. 

One thought on “Week One Introductions

  1. I can’t believe you didn’t like Atonement! I thought it was incredible. The series of unfortunate events that occurs in the movie starts when the young girl is raped, and she lies about the person who raped her! It was one of the most horrifying lies I’ve ever seen in a movie, the repercussions of which ruin the man’s and the girl’s older sister’s lives.

Leave a Reply

