Final Blog Post

Before taking this class, I felt as though I had seen if not heard about almost every movie out there. Thankfully, I am not as small minded about the film industry as I had been. This course has given me a new appreciation for the making and analyzing of films. I had not realized how much work went into the entire behind the scenes stuff, but now I will probably end up watching that part of the DVD extras. I was also under the impression that there would be more critiquing of films and their success. I am much happier that instead we broke down the elements of movie making and got to explore what added or took away from the overall feeling of the film. I am also grateful as this class encouraged me to watch movies I would not have seen otherwise, including all of the foreign films and a few of the silent films.

My least favorite movie would have to be Mephisto. I know a lot of people would disagree with this and I can understand why, but personally I did not find it enjoyable. Partially because the movie was only comprehensible through subtitles as I would write a tweet and miss vital parts of the plot, I found it hard to follow. The ending was brilliant though.

It is hard to choose a favorite movie because there were several that we watched that I really enjoyed. I would have to pick either Hugo or Spirited Away. I adore kid movies and especially after seeing how much time and work went into the making of these – I appreciate them that much more.

This class was most enjoyable and if I could I would definitely take it again.

2 thoughts on “Final Blog Post

  1. When I looked at the list of films for this class, it came to my surprise that I had never seen any of them and only recognized the titles of two films. I didn’t realize how many different genres of film existed and the expanse of time through which films evolved from the 1920’s to now. I also disliked Mephisto because the plot was boring and I didn’t get what was happening most of time. This probably had to do with the subtitles and I thought the ending was a letdown as well. My favorite film was also Hugo, because I love children’s films and it made me nostalgic of my own childhood. I thought Hugo was really magical and with the 3-D effects it definitely made it more enjoyable to watch. I also liked how the film included Georges Méliès because after learning about him in the beginning of his class I really got to appreciate the art of his films.

  2. I am also definitely going to start watching the DVD extras also because since taking this class I have a new-found interest in what went on behind the scenes and with all of the actors and directors. This is something that I would’ve considered before, but maybe gotten bored with and not been able to understand as well before watching this class. I really enjoyed the kids’ movies that we watched also because I adore them as well. Hugo and Spirited Away are two very different kids’ films that I would’ve probably never watched otherwise and are definitely not similar to many other kids’ movies that I’ve seen. I wouldn’t have seen the foreign films or silent films either because I tend to go with more films just from one specific genre. This class broadened my horizons and has encouraged me to seek out different types of films from different places.

Leave a Reply

