Final Post

This class has actually ended up being among one of my favorite classes. In all honesty I registered for the class due to the fact that it sounded intriguing, who does not like movies, and I was in need of a course that would help fulfill the writing credit. Now, at the end of the semester, I find myself walking away with more than I could have ever bargained for. I’m not sure I will ever look at movies in the same manner. There is no doubt in my mind that when I sit down to leisurely view a film I am going to end up critiquing every second of it. Hopefully my family and friends do not mind me talking throughout the film from start to finish. I also could not be more thankful that this class forced me to watch several movies that I would never have picked up to watch on my own. It really helped broaden my horizon in terms of cinema and has made me more willing and likely to watch a movie despite the have negative preconceived notions I may have formed. Before this semester, I automatically assumed that black and white films were not ones that I would enjoy because of their age and lack of technology. However, this class definitely cured that ridiculous assumption. Silent films are probably the types of films that I attempted to avoid at all cost before taking this class. I did not think that my attention span and interest could last long enough to pay attention only to things moving on a screen. However I have come to thoroughly enjoy such films after viewing multiple of them during in class screenings. As a result of watching the silent films, my appreciation for sound integrated within films has increased tremendously. Needless to say, I am taking away things from this class that I never expected to and I could not be more thrilled.

Leave a Reply

